About Us Forum Testimonials Game Incident Report Rate an Official Links Contact Us

LAX Rules/Tip of the week - Week 1

2013-03-25
This week's rule tip seems to be a pretty simple issue, but was suggested after a coach posed the question to one of our officials. Unsure of the answer, he informally polled a few others, and their answers varied. Question: Can a player's crosse have tape on the handle which contacts the plastic head? (NFHS) Answer: A rules axiom is that if no rule prohibits it, it is legal under the rules. No NFHS rule prohibits tape touching the head. Further study: In all likelyhood, this question arose because Under 2013NCAA rules, "no crosse may have tape affixed to the plastic head (goalkeeper’s crosse excluded)." NFHS explicitly permits taping the handle: "Handles that have been altered in any fashion other than taping or adding another covering designed to improve the grip are illegal." If you think that tape has a purpose other than improving grip, it might be a violation of this rule, but it's probably best that the official "not be that good", as they say.




Slashing #5 (slow motion)










 December 2017
 Sun  Mon  Tue  Wed  Thur  Fri  Sat
          1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
           
Click Here for Event Registration



























Home
About Us
Membership
Meeting & Events
In the news
Clinics
Lacrosse
Lacrosse Field Locations
NFHS Rules
Presentations
Forms & Reports
Youth Indoor Arena Football
Official Game Fees
Mechanics
Contact Us
Copyright 2017 Rock Valley Officials